This could be due to a number of reasons. If you make a reservation and pay in advance, then you have 15 minutes after making your reservation in which to complete making your payment. If you don't, the car will be released again for others to book it.
It is also possible that your account has not been activated before the start of your reservation. Your reservation will, in that case, be automatically canceled when it is due to start.